The Magic of Order

RiverSkyDuskMB

In one of the Journaling groups we are focusing on order, looking at and aiming to understand it more.

We are asking ourselves questions such as –

What are the benefits of order as you see it?

Where are you ordered in your life and where do you find it difficult to be ordered?

In the areas where you find it difficult to be ordered, why do you think this is?

Do this exercise for yourself now and see what you learn from it.

For so many of us, a lot of the time, we have an experience of being a bit all over the place, pulled from one thing to another. There is a sense of “not enough time”, stress, lack of time for what we want to do. Fragmentation. This is very draining and can lead to feeling exhausted.

Some of the big benefits of order, as I see it, is that I make much better use of my time and time expands – I have more of it, more time is available to me. And I find time to fit in what I want to fit in. I am no longer battling with time, as if there is not enough time. So order greatly reduces our experience of stress.

Small examples of order would be that I charge my phone at the same time every day and in the same place; that I leave my keys in the same place each time I have finished using them; that I put the scissors back in their place after using them.

Then there is the bigger picture – getting up at a particular time and sticking to it, having a plan for the day, having a list of what needs to be attended to and allocating time to these, having a general sense of structure in your life – a time to meditate, to journal, to walk in nature, a plan for meals, for work. Order, routine, structure, planning, goals – are all part of it and all lead to having an experience of rhythm in your life

The key, spiritually, is to be both structured and organised and yet, totally flexible.

Leave a Reply

